A poignant novel by a fresh Australian voice,
The Promise Seed will move and
mesmerise you.

This is a beautifully paced debut … it’s a thoughtful portrait of friendship, family and loneliness, and Moriarty’s finely drawn characters … bring levity and pathos to a sombre but moving story.

Books + Publishing

Parting Words is a gripping story that exposes family silences, and questions how well we really know those close to us.

…a beautifully written opening scene; and a cast of lightly drawn characters. This is a nuanced love letter to parents who have passed on; something that will no doubt resonate with many.

Books + Publishing

The development of Cass’ third novel is assisted by a grant gratefully received from the Australia Council for the Arts.

Cass Moriarty writes movingly about family, friendship, love and relationships, exploring the themes of loyalty, loss, betrayal, guilt, redemption, grief and the importance of forgiveness.

Her stories feature histories, memories and secrets and the way in which troubled families function.

Moriarty explores family secrets, polite societal conventions, love, loss and expectation with truth, compassion and genuine feeling.

Leanne Edmistone

The Courier Mail

Upcoming Events

Latest News

Upcoming Events Not to be Missed!

Some great events coming up in the last months of the year – why not get your book club or writing club together and come along? On 30 October I will be in conversation with Jane Harper to launch her latest book THE LOST MAN. Fans of THE DRY and FORCE OF NATURE will not want to miss this! On 24 October, join me in conversation with Melissa Fagan about her memoir WHAT WILL BE WORN, a fascinating story of fashion, frocks and family secrets, featuring the history of the McWhirters building. On 20 October I am running a FREE workshop on building characters at Bracken Ridge Library, and on 24 November another FREE event: the inaugural Book Feast – a celebration of libraries and reading, at Maroochydore Library. Plenty to choose from and everyone welcome.

Cass on Facebook

Buy Cass’ Books

What Am I Reading?

Eggshell Skull – Bri Lee

I confess I bought Eggshell Skull ( Allen & Unwin Books 2018) way back in winter when I heard Bri Lee speak at the Maleny Celebration of Books, and then I brought it home and in the months since, it has sat on my bedside table, in my TBR pile, its very beautiful but slightly unsettling cover beckoning me, while something else – some other trepidation – held me back. I expected that the book would be confronting and raw, and it is. I knew it would be difficult to read, and in places it is. I’d heard it described as ‘self-scouring’ (Helen Garner), ‘grim and intense’ (Jane Caro) and ‘vulnerable’ (Tracey Spicer). And it is all of those things. But it is also – as described by those same women – ‘scorching’, ‘utterly triumphant’ and ‘moving and ever so wise’. read more…

A Superior Spectre – Angela Meyer

I had heard good things about Angela Meyer’s debut novel, A Superior Spectre (Ventura Press 2018 Peter Bishop) but wasn’t quite sure what to expect – the blurb sounded like some strange genre-bending blend of historical fiction and science fiction. Two points: firstly, that is exactly what I got. And secondly, it hooked me and engaged me much, much more than I would have imagined possible. And I suppose that is because, like all good writing, this novel traverses the human condition, in this case exploring themes such as identity, belonging, death and dying, sexual desire, madness, feminism and friendship, all wrapped up in a shape-shifting, interconnected tale of the past and the future. And if that sounds far-fetched and audacious, well, it is. It is also highly imaginative and adventurous. The book takes risks, and the writing is thoughtful and thought-provoking. read more…

© 2017 by Cass Moriarty