A poignant novel by a fresh Australian voice,
The Promise Seed will move and
mesmerise you.

This is a beautifully paced debut … it’s a thoughtful portrait of friendship, family and loneliness, and Moriarty’s finely drawn characters … bring levity and pathos to a sombre but moving story.

Books + Publishing

Parting Words is a gripping story that exposes family silences, and questions how well we really know those close to us.

…a beautifully written opening scene; and a cast of lightly drawn characters. This is a nuanced love letter to parents who have passed on; something that will no doubt resonate with many.

Books + Publishing

The development of Cass’ third novel is assisted by a grant gratefully received from the Australia Council for the Arts.

Cass Moriarty writes movingly about family, friendship, love and relationships, exploring the themes of loyalty, loss, betrayal, guilt, redemption, grief and the importance of forgiveness.

Her stories feature histories, memories and secrets and the way in which troubled families function.

Moriarty explores family secrets, polite societal conventions, love, loss and expectation with truth, compassion and genuine feeling.

Leanne Edmistone

The Courier Mail

Upcoming Events

Latest News

Upcoming Events Not to be Missed!

Some great events coming up in the last months of the year – why not get your book club or writing club together and come along? On 30 October I will be in conversation with Jane Harper to launch her latest book THE LOST MAN. Fans of THE DRY and FORCE OF NATURE will not want to miss this! On 24 October, join me in conversation with Melissa Fagan about her memoir WHAT WILL BE WORN, a fascinating story of fashion, frocks and family secrets, featuring the history of the McWhirters building. On 20 October I am running a FREE workshop on building characters at Bracken Ridge Library, and on 24 November another FREE event: the inaugural Book Feast – a celebration of libraries and reading, at Maroochydore Library. Plenty to choose from and everyone welcome.

Cass on Facebook

Buy Cass’ Books

What Am I Reading?

Warlight – Michael Ondaatje

Michael Ondaatje is a master craftsman of words and from the very opening pages of his latest novel Warlight (Penguin Random House 2018) we feel confident we are in competent hands. It is difficult to review this book without giving away the story, which is complex and surprising. But let’s start where the novel begins. The first chapter is titled ‘A Table Full of Strangers’ and the first line is: ‘In 1945 our parents went away and left us in the care of two men who may have been criminals.’ read more…

Everything I’ve Never Said – Samantha Wheeler

Every so often, a book comes along that touches your heart in places so tender it hurts. A book that makes you cry because of the frustration and sadness in the world, but also makes you laugh out loud with joy because of small kindnesses and the many sources of happiness that are to be found despite the pain. Everything I’ve Never Said (UQP 2018) by children’s author Samantha Wheeler, is such a book, a beautifully simple story for both young people and adults that features a disabled protagonist on a quest to have her voice heard. read more…

© 2017 by Cass Moriarty