News

New Year Reading and Events

2020 promises to be full of creative opportunities, fabulous reading and some fascinating author events at Avid Reader. Some upcoming events for me include: 31 Jan – an interview with Dr Ginni Mansberg about her book THE M WORD (menopause in all its glory!); 3 Feb – a discussion with JP Pomare about his new crime novel IN THE CLEARING; 20 Feb -meet Mary Garden with her family memoir SUNDOWNER OF THE SKIES; 20 April – a fantastic panel of authors on WRITING WAR including Nigel Featherstone (BODIES OF MEN), Simon Cleary (THE WAR ARTIST) and Melanie Myers (MEET ME AT LENNONS); and on 24 May – a 3-hour workshop on FINDING YOUR CHARACTER’S VOICE. Booking details on the Events section to the left. So much to look forward to in the new year!

Call my agent!

I’m thrilled to announce that my work is now represented by literary agent Alex Adsett of Alex Adsett Publishing Services. I’m a long time admirer of Alex’s dynamic personality, her strong and ethical professionalism and her encouraging and uplifting manner. I’m very excited to join her list of talented authors and to begin imagining and planning for the future. Alex Adsett Publishing is on fire and achieving great things, and I look forward to a productive, mutually beneficial working relationship.

New upcoming events

I’m going on a crime spree! Join me in conversation with crime writer Chris Hammer (SILVER) on 20 Oct, and a crime panel featuring Christian White, Ben Hobson and Sarah Thornton on 1 Nov, both at Avid Reader. Strong female crime characters will feature in my evening with Tara Moss at State Library of QLD Talking Ideas program on 28 Oct. And international best-selling author Garry Disher will discuss his latest book Peace on 5 Nov. And less crime but more fairy tale, I am thrilled to launch Melissa Ashley’s new novel The Bee and The Orange Tree at Avid Reader on 30 Oct. See events for details!

Tara Moss and Submissions Workshop

Lots of great events coming up over the next few months. On 28 October, I will be in conversation with the fabulous Tara Moss about her new book Dead Man Switch, crime culture and feminism, in the State Library of Queensland’s fantastic Talking Ideas program. On 13 October, I am running a workshop at Avid Reader for emerging authors on preparing your work for submission, entering competitions and awards, and networking with your writing community. For details and bookings, see the Events section. Other upcoming author interviews include Heather Morris and Garry Disher. Find something that appeals and book now!

Events, courses, networking…

Your state writing centre, local writing groups (often found at libraries) and also your local bookstores often have great opportunities for courses and networking. In Brisbane, QWC, Brisbane Libraries and bookstores such as Avid Reader Bookshop, Riverbend Books and Books@Stones offer everything from a quiet writing space to author talks to skills courses and networking events. Over the coming months, I will be in conversation with authors Garry Disher, Gabrielle Jackson, Melanie Myers and Heather Morris with a great selection of fiction, crime, memoir and non-fiction. I’m also presenting FREE writing workshops at Logan (see events section for details). Book here: https://avidreader.com.au/events for a wide selection of events at Avid Reader Bookstore, including workshops, author talks and quiet writing space at The Monday Office.

Launches, workshops and conversations…

So much coming up for the second half of the year. The 2018 winner of the Glendower Award for an Emerging Author at the Queensland Literary Awards, Melanie Myers, will launch her debut novel MEET ME AT LENNON’S at Avid Reader on 18 September. I’ll also be in conversation over the coming months with authors Phil Brown, Sarah Thornton, Gabrielle Jackson and Heather Morris. There are lots of workshops to choose from, and don’t forget Avid Reader’s Monday Office (write in peace and quiet on the back deck!) and their amazing Crafting Words Workshops Series. I attended Kris Olsson’s Memoir workshop and it was pure gold.

Are you an Avid Reader?

Avid Reader Bookstore in West End is always searching for new ways to support avid readers and avid writers. From 13 May, you can now attend The Office at Avid and for a mere $5, enjoy a quiet workspace surrounded by books and other writers, unlimited tea and coffee and the satisfaction of saying ‘I’m off to the office to work today!’ Also new this year is Avid’s Crafting Words series: workshops designed for writers (and readers) to hone their skills in particular areas such as science, submission, psychology and screenwriting. Click here to find out more:
https://avidreader.com.au/events My upcoming events include two great events at Avid Reader in June: a fascinating panel discussion on commercial fiction with Minnie Dark, Kim Wilkins and Katie Rowney on 12 June, and I’m VERY EXCITED to be in conversation with the 2019 Stella Prize winner Vicki Laveau-Harvie about her memoir The Erratics on 13 June. Don’t miss out!

Get involved in your writing community!

What a busy start to the year it’s been, and so many great events to come. Get involved and support authors by attending events at your local bookstore – a great way to meet other book-lovers too! I’m excited to launch Tabitha Bird’s debut novel A Lifetime of Impossible Days in June, I’ll be in conversation with Mary-Rose MacColl in May, and speaking to literary legend Melina Marchetta in April. See the events section for dates of upcoming author events and workshops. In the meantime, take a peek at my latest reviews (What Am I Reading? section). Happy reading!

Workshop change of date / Author talks

Due to an unavoidable date clash, QWC has changed the workshop The End is Only the Beginning to Saturday, 27 April from 2pm to 5pm (changed from 6 April). Apologies to anyone who had already booked. I hope you are able to make the new date. The events calendar on the left shows my upcoming workshops and seminars (some are free!) And I’ll be in conversation with some amazing authors over the coming months, including Mark Brandi, Graeme Simsion, JP Pomare, Mirandi Riwoe and Meg Vann. If you attend an event, don’t be shy – introduce yourself and say hi!

Holiday greetings

Wishing all readers and writers a peaceful, safe and happy holiday time. I hope you enjoy special moments with friends and family. I’m looking forward to sharing some great reading recommendations with you in 2019!

Upcoming Events Not to be Missed!

Some great events coming up in the last months of the year – why not get your book club or writing club together and come along? On 30 October I will be in conversation with Jane Harper to launch her latest book THE LOST MAN. Fans of THE DRY and FORCE OF NATURE will not want to miss this! On 24 October, join me in conversation with Melissa Fagan about her memoir WHAT WILL BE WORN, a fascinating story of fashion, frocks and family secrets, featuring the history of the McWhirters building. On 20 October I am running a FREE workshop on building characters at Bracken Ridge Library, and on 24 November another FREE event: the inaugural Book Feast – a celebration of libraries and reading, at Maroochydore Library. Plenty to choose from and everyone welcome.

BWF Writers’ Festival Round-Up

The Brisbane Writers’ Festival has come and gone for another year, and what a great time was had by all. I heard some inspiring authors and some spirited debate. Geoffrey Robertson delivered the opening address, and spoke with passion about the festival theme What the World Needs Now. I attended a Men’s Mental Health Session with Sam Maguire, Osher Gunsberg and Joe Williams – all thoughtful and considered men, and a session about refugees and the power of hope with the founder of the Asylum Seeker Resource Seeker, Kon Karapanagiotidis and historian Dr Claire Wright. I attended a powerful and compassionate panel about growing up, adolescence and gender identity with trans activist Nevo Zisan, Madonna King, Amanda Dunn and Susan Johnson. I heard AJ Finn and Trent Dalton talk about their writing. I participated in a panel with Kali Napier and Ben Hobson about stories of secrets and shame. I caught up with lots of writerly friends in the green room and met a few new friends that until now I had only known on social media. My publisher UQP held a social event one night where I mingled with friends old and new, and this was followed up by a BWF event on the 21st floor of the new Emporium Hotel. It was a whirlwind of fun and interesting people and I’m already looking forward to next year!

For more news, follow Cass on:

© 2017 by Cass Moriarty